Establishing New Deaneries in the Diocese of Jefferson City

Whereas canon 374 §2 of the Code of Canon Law provides that several neighboring parishes can be joined together in special groups known as “Vicariates Forane,” or Deaneries, for the purpose of fostering pastoral care under a priest appointed by the Diocesan Bishop as the Dean (cf. canons 553-555); and

Whereas changing demographics, especially in the rural territories of the diocese, encourage the reconfiguration of existing Deaneries for pastoral effectiveness; and

Whereas after having consulted the Deans and other members of the Presbyteral Council at their regular meeting on 9 February 2021 on the reconfiguration of Deaneries (cf. canon 50);

I hereby DECREE as Diocesan Bishop that the following new Deaneries shall be established, effective 1 July 2021:

The North Deanery shall include the following parishes: St. Mary Parish, Milan; Mission of St. Mary, Unionville; Immaculate Conception Parish, Brookfield; St. Bonaventure Parish, Marceline; Mary Immaculate Parish, Kirksville; Mission of St. Rose of Lima, Novinger; Immaculate Conception Parish, Macon; Mission of Sacred Heart, Bevier; St. Mary Parish, Shelbina; St. Patrick Parish, Clarence; St. Joseph Parish, Edina; St. Aloysius Parish, Baring; St. John Parish, Memphis; St. Michael Parish, Kahoka; Shrine of St. Patrick, St. Patrick; St. Joseph Parish, Canton; Queen of Peace Parish, Ewing; Holy Family Parish, Hannibal; St. Joseph Parish, Palmyra.

The Central Deanery shall include the following parishes: St. Boniface Parish, Brunswick; St. Joseph Parish, Salisbury; St. Mary of the Angels Parish, Wien; Mission of St. Joseph, Hurricane Branch; St. Raphael Parish, Indian Grove; St. Peter Parish, Marshall; St. Joseph Parish, Slater; Mission of Holy Family, Sweet Springs; St. Pius X Parish, Moberly; St. Joseph Parish, Fayette; St. Mary Parish, Glasgow; Our Lady of Lourdes Parish, Columbia; Sacred Heart Parish, Columbia; St. Thomas More Newman Center Parish, Columbia; Holy Rosary Parish, Monroe City; St. Stephen Parish, Indian Creek; Mission of St. Frances Cabrini, Paris; Holy Spirit Parish, Centralia; St. Brendan Parish, Mexico; St. Joseph Parish, Martinsburg; St. Joseph Parish, Fulton; St. Jude Thaddeus Parish, Mokane; St. William Parish, Perry; St. Joseph Parish, Louisiana; Mission of Queen of Peace, Clarksville; St. Clement Parish, St. Clement; Immaculate Conception Parish, Montgomery City; St. Patrick Parish, Jonesburg; Church of the Resurrection, Wellsville; Sacred Heart Parish, Vandalia; Mission of St. John, Laddonia; Church of the Risen Savior, Rhineland.

The Southwest Deanery shall include the following parishes: St. Vincent de Paul Parish, Pettis County; St. Ann Parish, Warsaw; Mission of Ss. Peter and Paul, Cole Camp; St. Bernadette Parish, Hermitage; St. Patrick Parish, Laurie; Mission of St. Philip Benizi, Versailles; Ss. Peter and Paul Parish, Boonville; St. Joseph Parish, Pilot Grove; St. Andrew Parish, Tipton; Annunciation Parish, California; St. Anthony Parish, Camdenton; Sacred Heart Parish, Eldon; Our Lady of Snows Parish, Mary’s Home; Our Lady of the Lake Parish, Lake Ozark; St. Lawrence Parish, St. Elizabeth; St. Anthony of Padua Parish, St. Anthony.

The Southeast Deanery shall include the following parishes: St. Joseph Parish, Westphalia; St. Anthony of Padua Parish, Folk; Sacred Heart Parish, Rich Fountain; Holy Family Parish, Freeburg; St. Cecilia Parish, Meta; St. Aloysius Parish, Argyle; St. George Parish, Linn; Our Lady Help of Christians Parish, Frankenstein; St. Louis of France Parish, Bonnots Mill; Immaculate Conception Parish, Loose Creek; Most Pure Heart of Mary Parish, Chamois; Visitation Parish, Vienna; Holy Guardian Angels Parish, Brinktown; St. Alexander Parish, Belle; St. Robert Bellarmine Parish, St. Robert; St. Jude Parish, Richland; St. Cornelius Parish, Crocker; St. Theresa Parish, Dixon; St. Patrick Parish, Rolla; Immaculate Conception Parish, St. James; St. Anthony Parish, Rosati; St. George Parish, Hermann; Assumption Parish, Morrison; Immaculate Conception Parish, Owensville; Holy Cross Parish, Cuba; St. Francis Caracciolo Parish, Bourbon; St. Michael Parish, Steelville.

The See City Deanery shall include the following parishes: St. Joseph Cathedral Parish, Jefferson City; St. Peter Parish, Jefferson City; Immaculate Conception Parish, Jefferson City; St. Martin Parish, St. Martins; St. Michael Parish, Russellville; St. Andrew Parish, Holts Summit; St. Stanislaus Parish, Wardsville; St. Margaret of Antioch Parish, Osage Bend; St. Thomas the Apostle Parish, St. Thomas; St. Francis Xavier Parish, Taos.

Whenever pastors, administrators or moderators of pastoral life have responsibility for more than one parish, all parishes under their responsibility shall pertain to the Deanery in which the parish priest has official primary residence.

All things to the contrary notwithstanding.

Given at the Chancery in Jefferson City, Missouri, on the 9th of March in the Year of St. Joseph, 2021.

Official appointment

Msgr. Marion Makarewicz as dean of the North Deanery, effective June 7, 2022.