February 20, 2019

Diocese of Jefferson City
2207 West Main Street, P.O. Box 104900
Jefferson City, MO 65110-4900
February 20, 2019
Summarized record of the meeting of the Diocesan Advisory School Board, Inc., held on Wednesday, February 20, 2019, at 6:30pm at the Bishop’s Residence, 3314 Country Club Drive, Jefferson City, MO with dinner served before the meeting.
I. Sr. Elizabeth Youngs, SCL, offered the opening prayer.
Board Members Present:
Most Rev. W. Shawn McKnight
Rev. Msgr. Robert Kurwicki, VG
Sr. Elizabeth Youngs, SCL, Ph. D., Superintendent
Sr. Julie Brandt, SSND, Associate Superintendent
Fr. Philip Niekamp
Spencer Allen
Alan Lammers
Millie Aulbur
Donna Beykirch
Connie Hesse
Debbie Jaegers
Angie Kolb
Kellie Rorhback
Dianne Veasman
Kellie Witthaus
Board Members Not Present:
Fr. Jeremy Secrist
Others Present:
Paula Glynn, Recording Secretary
Each member was asked to introduce themselves.
Bishop McKnight explained his vision for the Diocesan Advisory School Board. He wants a Council that is devoted solely to the Catholic School system and believes that the Catholic School system is our Parish School of Religion. He would like to see this expanded even more, into the High School and where there is a concept of the Parish as recognizing the school as part of its mission, not just the obligation of the parents. We need to have a structure in which pastors, parents, administrators and teachers are able to talk about the more important questions facing our school system, policy, major issues that need to come up. This needs to be a structure where the Bishop needs to hear from the Advisory Council along with the Superintendent so that we
can work things out. This is not the structure where we run the school office, or the individual schools. We deal with the higher level questions. He told pastors that he never wants to hear “only advisory” with reference to any of our lay councils. Councils need to be meaningful and have a real input and have an impact. The purpose and need of this council is a way of bringing representatives of the Church, primarily lay, but also involving the clergy, to address the more significant questions. Soon there will be an announcement of a new Diocesan Pastoral Council, which will be another very important structure for the pastoral governance of the Diocese. That structure will be primarily responsible for the development of a new Pastoral Plan which will be discerned over a nine month period probably beginning in December. The Diocesan Advisory School Board Council will be asked to participate in that process. They will be asked to look at the Catholic School system and determine what should be identified as an objective for the Catholic schools in that Pastoral plan. Sr. Elizabeth stated that our schools belong to all of us and our pastors and administrators are the ones that have to make some decisions but the schools do belong to the parishes. This Council needs to be the same kind of organization and we don’t want members to be too close to the schools because we want the overall, bigger picture. There will be some processes. A Constitution and By-Laws are in process and will be distributed to all members when complete. Just like our School Advisory Boards, this Council is not a legal entity. We do ask that these meetings and discussions remain confidential and that everyone is comfortable speaking their truth, even if it is in conflict at times.
The terms of office on the Advisory Council are for three years and will begin at the August meeting. Initial staggered terms of office for members will be determined by lottery:
 One-third of members (4) will serve for one year – from February 2019 through April 2020 – and may be reappointed for a full term which will be considered their second term.
 One-third of members (4) will serve for two years – ending in April 2021, and may be reappointed for a full term which will be considered their second term.
 One third of members (4) will serve for three years ending in 2022, and may be reappointed for a second term.
Slips of paper indicating terms were passed around, with each member choosing a slip to determine their initial term. The results are:
One Year: Rev. Philip Niekamp, Rev. Jeremy Secrist, Alan Lammers and Millie Aulbur
Two Year: Connie Hesse, Kelly Rohrbach, Dianne Veasman and Kellie Witthaus
Three Year: Spencer Allen, Donna Beykirch, Debbie Jaegers and Angela Kolb
The Constitution and By-Laws indicate that there are three officer positions which are Chairperson, Vice Chairperson and Secretary. These are one-year terms with re-election of officers each year. The Vice-Chairperson will automatically become the Chairperson in the second year. The Secretary will not be tasked with taking minutes at a meeting so that they may participate easier in a meeting. Members were asked to nominate and vote for the officers using the Roster of Members (the Ex-Officio members are not eligible for election, but they may vote). Chairperson – will plan the agenda and run the meetings along with the Superintendent and be a point of
contact for the Council. The Vice-Chairperson will act in the capacity of the Chairperson if he/she is absent.
 The Executive Committee will be comprised of the elected officers and the Superintendent and will meet as needed to expedite the work of the Council.
 The Strategic Planning Committee will be tasked with reviewing the overall vitality and viability of our schools/parishes and making recommendations regarding the status of our schools.
 Policy Review Committee will review current policies, recommend revisions, and formulate or recommend new policies as needed.
 Stewardship Committee will be responsible for working with the appropriate diocesan entities to help educate diocesan community as to the needs, goals and objectives of the diocesan schools. In order to strengthen the stewardship model for our schools, it will be necessary to educate the community on what that means. They will also provide positive public relations about the schools, assist the recruitment of students into the diocesan schools and to explore aspects of publicizing the schools within the diocesan community.
 The Nominating Committee, comprised of Vice Chairperson and outgoing members of the Board, will recommend who would be the new Vice Chairperson. They will also research and recommend persons from their deanery to take the place of members whose terms are expiring.
 Ad Hoc Committees can be formed as needed.
It will be the responsibility of the Chairperson to appoint someone to chair each of the Committees. Each Committee should have one chairperson and at least two other members of the Council. Other people may be asked to join a working committee on an “as needed” basis. Either Sr. Elizabeth Youngs or Sr. Julie Brandt will be on each Committee with the other members. Each Board member will serve on at least 2 committees and was asked to indicate their preference on which Committees that they would prefer to serve on.
Ballot slips were passed out to vote on officers. The voting results are:
Chairperson – Spencer Allen; Vice Chairperson – Connie Hesse; Secretary – Angela Kolb.
Meetings will be held at the Chancery at 3:00p.m.
 Wednesday, April 3, 2019
 Wednesday, August 21, 2019
 Wednesday, October 2, 2019
 Wednesday, January 8, 2020
 Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Bishop McKnight adjourned the meeting with a closing blessing.
Respectfully Submitted by Paula Glynn on behalf of Angela Kolb, Secretary