About Us

About Our Diocese

The Diocese, or ecclesiastical territory, is composed of 22,127 square miles [57,287 square kilometers], decidedly rural and embraces 38 counties in northeastern and central Missouri. It includes the urban areas of Columbia, Hannibal and the State Capital of Jefferson City. The Diocesan patroness is the Immaculate Heart of Mary. It is located in region IX of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops (USCCB).


By the numbers

CHANCERY SERVICES:   The Catholic Center in Jefferson City is the bishop’s base of operations for ministries to parishes. Your gift helps cover services for employees and visitors to the Catholic Center, in addition to building and grounds maintenance.




Church Inside 634x424